Cyber-criminals have launched a "massive spoof email attack" that accuses victims of being associated with a child porn site
Messages claim that the recipient's email address has been found in a child porn database
R E L A T E D   C O N T E N T
Jargon Buster

ADVERTISEMENT

Child porn spam hides Trojan

Bogus emails aim to trick recipients

Robert Jaques, vnunet.com 23 Aug 2006
ADVERTISEMENT

Cyber-criminals have launched a "massive spoof email attack" that accuses victims of being associated with a child porn site in a bid to trick them into downloading malware.

The messages, which use the subject line 'CP investigation was started', claim that the recipient's email address has been found in a child porn database discovered by the Association of Sites Advocating Child Protection (ASACP).

The email actually contains the Agent-CPK Trojan horse.

The ASACP has published a warning on its website, informing recipients of the message that they may be at risk of infection.

Part of the malicious email reads as follows:

'I'd like to inform you that investigating activity of the one of child porno sites; we found e-mails data base, in which was your e-mail <email address >. In view of this, I have two versions: either you are the client of this shop, or your e-mail appeared there accidentally. I sincerely hope that it was accidental coincidence and believe that you are interested in this version as well. If you show a good will, make modest, voluntary donation on our site [URL removed] I will be convinced in your being not implicated in this business.'

Attached to the email is a file called asset576.zip which unzips to a file called asset.txt<multiple spaces>.exe. Running this executable file installs the Trojan onto the user's computer.

"The danger is that people may panic when they think their email address was found on a child abuse website, rush to open the attached file and become infected by a malicious Trojan," said Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos.

"The ASACP is an entirely innocent party in this attack. It is simply the organisation's name that is being spoofed by the hackers in their attempt to infect innocent computer users."


All Hacking

Like this story? Spread the news by clicking below:

Post this to Delicious del.icio.us    Post this to Digg Digg this    Post this to reddit reddit!

Permalink for this story

M A R K E T P L A C E
Sponsored links
F E A T U R E D   J O B S
| Aston Carter
C#, GUI Developer – Fixed Income – Investment Bank. My client is seeking a strong C# ASP.Net developer to join their Fixed Income area and operate within one of the top tier investment banks in ... more >
| Computer People
Technical Project Manager / SDLC West London, £75k - (Software Development, SDLC), RUP Serious opportunity for hands on Technical Project Manager to join a leading blue chip organisation based in an easily accessible area of ... more >
| Computer People
C# Developer - Nottingham 4 Month Contract Market Rates I have an exciting opportunity for a C# ASP.NETDeveloper working for an established client within Computer People. Working from their offices in Nottingham you’ll be providing ... more >
| JAM Recruitment
Job Ref: AS/20356/TAX Package: c£60,000.00 + Bonus + Benefits Location: Middlesex Job type: International Assignment / Global Mobility / Expatriate Tax Manager Position type: Permanent Hours: Full-time Contact name: Andy Shaw Contact Company: JAM Mobility ... more >
More job opportunities